Support our work

Staff and Trustees


John Darlington - Executive Director

John Darlington joined World Monuments Fund Britain in June 2015 from the National Trust where he was Regional Director, North West of England.  An archaeologist by training, John is an author and conservation professional with over 30 years of practical experience in protecting heritage for the benefit of all.

Since joining the World Monuments Fund family, John has led on a range of partnership projects in the UK and abroad. These range from the conservation of Strata Florida Abbey in Wales and Blackpool’s piers through to initiatives in Iraq, Yemen and Jordan, the latter aimed at training Syrian refugees in conservation stonemasonry.

John is a Member of the Chartered Institute for Archaeologists, a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries and Professor of Practice at the University of Wales Trinity Saint David.

John is author of Fake Heritage: Why We Rebuild Monuments published by Yale University Press, 2020.

John Darlington, Executive Director, World Monuments Fund Britain

John Darlington, Executive Director, World Monuments Fund Britain

Hélène Marie Shafran - Chair

Hélène Marie Shafran is a philanthropist with a 30 year career in the fine art world. Formally a Director in Business Development at Sotheby’s, where she held several international posts, Hélène is a long-standing advocate of the arts and architecture and serves on the board of several museums and arts institutions across London and New York.

A dedicated supporter of World Monuments Fund, she has been a member of the WMF Board in New York for several years and a Trustee of WMF Britain since 2017.

Hélène Marie Shafran

Board of Trustees

Hélène Marie Shafran (Chair), Monika McLennan, Jacqueline Ranawake, Julian Sharpe, Sonali Wijeyaratne, Ann Chapman-Daniel, Lorna Goodman, Hannah Kaye and Anna Van Praagh.


Charlotte Masters – Development Manager

Emma Sweeney – Events & Membership Manager (Maternity Cover)

Architectural Advisory Committee

Mr Marcus Binney, Sir Donald Insall CBE, Mr Peter Inskip, Mr Simon Swynfen Jervis, Mr David Lambert, Mr Rodney Melville, Mr Michael Morrison, Mr Stuart Tappin, Dr Christopher Young

The AAC provide advice on all matters relating to the successful conservation and restoration of buildings across the UK. They make valuable contributions to our decision making process and keep us up to date with conservation matters.